Element is led by a dynamic group of individuals with years of experience in their respective leadership and management fields.

The Element Board meets every month to review the overall performance of the business and also to determine group-wide strategies and priorities.

Element's Board members are:

President & CEO

Charles Noall

Charles has been the President and CEO of Element since 2003. Under his leadership, Element has become the fastest growing independent materials and product qualification testing company in the world.

Charles successfully led the original management buy-out of Element from Stork BV in 2010.

In the six years that followed, the Group’s revenues tripled and Charles then led the transfer of the company’s ownership from its original private equity sponsor, 3i, to its current financial sponsor Bridgepoint Capital. 

In 2017 Charles led the acquisition of Exova creating a single global testing organization with over $700 million in revenues and serving over 40,000 customers worldwide.

In addition to his role as President and CEO of the company, Charles also leads the Executive Team and is a member of the Group’s main Board. 


Jo Wetz

Jo joined Element as CFO during 2012 but has been a director of the Group since the original buyout from Stork in 2010.

Jo has led the finance transformation at Element following the carve-out in 2010 and is responsible for all financial, legal, tax and IT activities within the Group.

Alongside Charles Noall, he led the 3i and Bridgepoint buyouts.

In addition to his role as CFO, Jo is a member of the Group鈥檚 main Board and he is heavily involved in setting the overall strategy and supporting its strategic M&A program.

Prior to his role at Element, Jo worked in private equity and invested in a number of global testing businesses both in Europe and the US.聽

partner - bridgepoint

Chris Busby

Chris is a Partner of Bridgepoint with responsibility for Bridgepoint鈥檚 investment activities in the UK. He sits on the Firm鈥檚 Group Board and Operating Committee and is a member of its Investment Advisory Committee.

Chris joined Bridgepoint in 1997. He spent his first five years with Bridgepoint helping establish our Nordic office and is now based in London.  In addition to his role on the board of Element Materials Technology, he also sits on the board of Cambridge Education Group.  He has worked on a number of transactions including LGC, ERM and Pret A Manger.

Chris holds a BSc from Exeter University and is ACA qualified from his time spent working at PwC prior to joining Bridgepoint.

president and chief operating officer - Bridgepoint

Raoul Hughes

Raoul Hughes is President and Group Chief Operating Officer of Bridgepoint. He heads Bridgepoint鈥檚 operations in North America and is a member of the Firm's Group Board, Investment Advisory Committee and a member of Bridgepoint Development Capital. Raoul also sits on the boards of Element Materials Technology and Care UK.

Raoul joined Bridgepoint in 1988 and has worked extensively on investments across Europe. He has a degree in Business Administration from the University of Bath where he also supports a number of PhD programs.

Non-Executive Chairman

Allan Leighton

Allan is a Non-Executive member of the Element Materials Technology Group Board. He has had an extensive and varied business career holding a series of high profile roles for major corporations in the food retail, FMCG and communications sectors including that of Chief Executive of Asda and Non-Executive Chairman of the Royal Mail.

In addition to his role on the Board of Element, he is currently Non-Executive Chair of the Co-operative Group; and Non-Executive Chairman of Entertainment One plc and Wagamama Ltd.

Allan holds an honorary degree from Cranfield University and an honorary fellowship from the University of Lancaster.